Does a window air conditioner need a dedicated circuit? What each maker and the code say
Cooling amps for 9 window air conditioners from maker spec sheets, what each manual says about circuits, and whether each one can share a 15 A or 20 A circuit under the code.
Amps and circuit instructions read by hand from maker spec sheets and manuals; the code rule from IRC E3702.13, which repeats NEC 440.62. We are not electricians; have one check your wiring. How we research | How links work
The short answer
Often yes. Friedrich says its Chill Premier units go on a single outlet circuit only, and Midea's InverterPlus manual says to always install a dedicated power circuit. The code allows a plug-in unit marked up to 80% of the circuit (12 A on a 15 A circuit) when nothing else is on it, but only 50% (7.5 A on 15 A, 10 A on 20 A) when lights or other outlets share it. 6 of the 9 models below with published amps draw more than 7.5 A, so they should not share a 15 A circuit.

Can your circuit take it?
Over the limit
9.7 A is more than 7.5 A, half of a 15 A circuit that also feeds other outlets.
The code rule, in numbers
The International Residential Code section E3702.13, which takes its text from NEC 440.62, sets two limits for a room air conditioner that plugs in. Where nothing else is on the circuit, the unit's marked current may be up to 80% of the circuit rating. Where lighting or other appliances are also supplied, the limit is 50%, unless the wiring is interlocked so the two cannot run at the same time.
| Breaker | Unit alone on the circuit (80%) | Circuit shared with lights or outlets (50%) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 15 A | Up to 12 A | Up to 7.5 A | E3702.13.1, E3702.13.2 |
| 20 A | Up to 16 A | Up to 10 A | E3702.13.1, E3702.13.2 |
Your town may use a different code edition or add its own rules, so check locally or ask an electrician.
Each model: amps, what the maker says, and the code check
Cooling amps from the maker spec sheet, sorted by capacity. The last three columns apply the code limits above. Cooling amps run from 4.7 A (Frigidaire FHWW063WB) to 12.2 A (Frigidaire Gallery GHWQ123WC); 1 of them are over 10 A and so need a circuit of their own even on a 20 A breaker.
| Model | Btu | Volts | Cooling amps | What the maker says about the circuit | Receptacle | Can share a 15 A circuit | Can share a 20 A circuit | Alone on 15 A | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frigidaire FHWW063WB | 6,000 | 115 | 4.7 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | Yes | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Midea MAW08V1QWT (U) | 8,000 | 115 | Not stated | Do not share the outlet with other appliances | Grounded wall receptacle, time delay fuse or circuit breaker | No, maker says not to share | No, maker says not to share | See maker | Maker |
| LG LW8016ER | 8,000 | 115 | 6.2 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | Yes | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Frigidaire FHWW083WB | 8,000 | 115 | 6.4 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | Yes | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Frigidaire Gallery GHWQ083WC | 8,000 | 115 | 8.8 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | No | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Frigidaire FHWW103WB | 10,000 | 115 | 8 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | No | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| LG LW1216ER | 12,000 | 115 | 9.3 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | No | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Frigidaire FHWW123WB | 12,000 | 115 | 9.7 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | No | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Frigidaire Gallery GHWQ123WC | 12,000 | 115 | 12.2 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | No | No | No | Maker |
| Friedrich CCW15B10B | 15,000 | 115 | Not stated | Single outlet circuit only; 15 A circuit or time delay fuse | NEMA 5-15R (15 A, 125 V) | No, maker says not to share | No, maker says not to share | Yes, maker lists a 15 A circuit | Maker |
| Frigidaire FHWW153WB | 15,100 | 115 | 9.4 | Not on the spec sheet | Not on the spec sheet | No | Yes | Yes | Maker |
| Friedrich CCW18B30B | 18,000 | 230 | Not stated | Single outlet circuit only; 20 A circuit or time delay fuse | NEMA 6-20R (20 A, 250 V) | No, maker says not to share | No, maker says not to share | No, needs 230 V | Maker |
| Friedrich CCW24B30B | 24,000 | 230 | Not stated | Single outlet circuit only; 20 A circuit or time delay fuse | NEMA 6-20R (20 A, 250 V) | No, maker says not to share | No, maker says not to share | No, needs 230 V | Maker |
| Midea MAW10RV1CWT / MAW12RV1CWT / MAW14RV1CWT | 10,000 to 14,000 | 115 | Not stated | Always install a circuit breaker and a dedicated power circuit | Grounded wall receptacle, time delay fuse or circuit breaker | No, maker says not to share | No, maker says not to share | See maker | Maker |
Friedrich gives the circuit rating and receptacle for each model rather than the running amps. Midea's manuals say to use a grounded receptacle protected by a time delay fuse or circuit breaker and to check the rating plate. The Midea U manual says not to share the outlet with other appliances, a rule about the outlet itself, separate from the code limit for the circuit.
Next step
Find the amps on the unit's nameplate or spec sheet, find the breaker for the outlet you want to use, and see what else turns off with it. If the unit is over half the breaker rating and the circuit is shared, ask an electrician about a dedicated circuit.
Common questions
What counts as sharing the circuit?
Any light or other outlet on the same breaker. The code limit drops from 80% to 50% of the circuit rating where lighting or other appliances are also supplied. Flip the breaker off and see what else goes dark to find out.
Can I use an extension cord or power strip for a window air conditioner?
The Friedrich and Midea manuals we read both say no to extension cords and to plug adapters. Plug it straight into a grounded wall outlet.
Which amps figure should I use?
The code rule uses the current rating marked on the unit, so check the nameplate. The table uses the cooling amps from each maker spec sheet, which is what you can see before you buy.
What about 230 V units?
They need a matching 230 V receptacle on their own circuit. Friedrich lists a NEMA 6-20R receptacle on a 20 A circuit for its 18,000 and 24,000 Btu Chill Premier models. A normal 115 V outlet cannot take that plug.
Method
- Amps. The cooling amps on each Frigidaire and LG spec sheet, read by hand on 17 October 2026.
- Maker instructions. The circuit, receptacle and extension cord wording in the Friedrich Chill Premier and Midea manuals. Spec sheets that do not mention the circuit are marked so.
- Code limits. IRC E3702.13.1 and E3702.13.2, taken from NEC 440.62(B) and (C): 80% of the circuit rating when the unit is alone, 50% when lights or other appliances share the circuit.
- Check. We compare the spec sheet amps with those limits. The code uses the rating marked on the unit, which can differ from the spec sheet.
- Not covered. Wire size, breaker condition, older wiring and local amendments. We are not electricians and did not test any unit.
Sources
- Frigidaire and LG spec sheets, Friedrich Chill Premier CCW manual and Midea manuals (PDFs), each linked in the table, read 2026-10-17
- IRC E3702.13.1 Where no other loads are supplied (from NEC 440.62(B)), on UpCodes, read 2026-10-17
- IRC E3702.13.2 Where lighting units or other appliances are also supplied (from NEC 440.62(C)), on UpCodes, read 2026-10-17
- Our window AC maker requirements dataset, CSV
Changes
- : Published. 14 models from Frigidaire, LG, Friedrich and Midea documents read on 17 October 2026.